Is Lamarca Prosecco Vegan? FIND OUT (Recommendations)

Lamarca Prosecco is a sparkling wine made in the Prosecco region of Italy. It’s light, effervescent, and delicious. But is Lamarca Prosecco vegan?

Find out if Lamarca Prosecco is vegan, and more in our quick guide to Lamarca Prosecco.

Is Lamarca Prosecco Vegan?

Lamarca Prosecco in the glass
Lamarca Prosecco is a white sparkling wine made from Glera grapes.

No, Lamarca Prosecco is not vegan-friendly. While there are no animal products in the final product, Lamarca uses animal products like gelatin during the fining process.

The addition of animal proteins like gelatin or egg whites speeds this process by binding to impurities and then being filtered out.

None of it ends up in your glass of prosecco, but it is used during the process.

What Is Lamarca Prosecco?

Lamarca Prosecco is a traditionally made prosecco sparkling wine which means it’s not vegan-friendly.

Lamarca Prosecco is an Italian sparkling wine made in the province of Rieti.

The production area is small, and cultivation is limited to the vineyards located near the city of Rieti.

The grape variety used to make this wine is Glera grape which is also used for Prosecco.

The Glera grape has a crisp flavor and mineral quality which makes it well suited for Lamarca’s traditional method of production.

The refined production process utilizes natural carbonation and vinification presses which utilize screw-type turntables instead of centrifugal force to extract the juice from its mash.

The resulting press wine is then filtered by carbon dioxide gas through special capsules with fine holes to ensure the creation of tiny bubbles within the wine.

During the fining process, which removes impurities from the prosecco, Lamarca may use any number of clarifying agents which can be derived from fish, eggs, pork, or beef.

These agents are added to the wine. The proteins bind to impurities in the wine and sink to the bottom.

As these impurities are filtered out, the animal products are filtered out as well, leaving behind a pure, clear wine.

How Does Lamarca Prosecco Taste?

Original Lamarca Prosecco is slightly sweet with a refreshing, crisp fruity flavor.

It pairs the flavors and aromas of citrus, apples, and honeysuckle blossoms with a delicate and smooth bubbly texture.

Lamarca’s Prosecco Rosé boasts the flavor and aroma of the original with added hints of red berries like cherry and strawberry.

Want to learn how to taste prosecco like a pro? Check out this video by Wine Folly and learn how to distinguish the flavors and aromas in prosecco.

What Are the Vegan Prosecco Alternatives to Lamarca?

While older prosecco makers like Lamarca stick to traditional methods for fining, or clarifying, their wine, some vintners have changed tactics and use vegan-friendly products to clarify prosecco.

Brands that have received vegan-friendly certification use mineral clarifiers such as bentonite clay, carbon, or limestone clay to clarify wine.

Here are 3 vegan-friendly prosecco brands:

  • Giol Prosecco comes in a variety of flavors. All are dry with flavors of white fruits like peach, and heavy floral aromas.
  • San Leo Prosecco has very light bubbles and a green fruit flavor. It features flavors of green apple, kiwi, and a slight aroma of honey.
  • Proudly Vegan has an array of wines, including a white sparkling wine (prosecco), that is completely vegan from start to finish.

Vegans don’t need to refrain from indulging in spirits. In fact, more companies are producing vegan products than ever before, and these wine companies prove it can be done deliciously.

What Foods Pair Well With Prosecco?

Charcuterie and prosecco
Prosecco pairs perfectly with favorite finger foods and relaxed dining.

Prosecco is characterized by light bubbles, white fruit flavors, and floral aromas. No matter which prosecco you choose, it will pair perfectly with an array of fresh foods.

  • Cheese – especially creamy cheese like Brie
  • Fresh vegetables
  • Fresh fruit
  • Seafood
  • Pasta and white sauce dishes
  • Sushi
  • Canapes
  • Salad with vinaigrette dressing
  • Crepes (sweet or savory)
  • Roasted vegetables of any kind

Think of prosecco as being a very light, refreshing drink. It can hold up to some robust flavors, like vegetables, but it will be overwhelmed by very robust meat or sauce flavors.

Prosecco is an excellent brunch beverage, aperitif, or summer dessert pairing. However, it is not a sweet dessert wine.

It has quite a dry punch, perfect for pairing with fresh fruit and cream.

Final Thoughts

As you can see, Lamarca Prosecco is not vegan-friendly. However, there are other prosecco brands that are vegan, so there isn’t a reason to avoid prosecco altogether.

Enjoy a refreshing glass of vegan prosecco with your next brunch or salad luncheon. You’ll be so glad you did.

5/5 - (1 vote)

Leave a Comment